Skip to content ↓


Miss D Browning Lead Practitioner Science & Progress Tracking & Teacher of Science
Mr T Evans Assistant Lead Teacher Science & Teacher of Science
Mr J Herman Assistant Lead Teacher Science & Teacher of Science
Mr M Hotchkiss Lead Practitioner COVID-19 Recovery Premium & Community Facilities Development & Teacher of Science
Mrs T Goodchild Teacher of Science
Mr N Lyons Teacher of Science
Mr T Kent Teacher of Science

In the Science Department we aim to help all students build and develop their ability to think as scientists. We firstly endeavour to help make the transition from primary to secondary school as smooth as possible and to generate enthusiasm and self-confidence in all students. Throughout both Key Stages, students study a wide variety of topics including the fundamentals of forces, matter, electromagnets, energy, waves, reactions, earth, organism, ecosystems and genes.

  • Develop scientific knowledge and conceptual understanding through the specific disciplines of biology, chemistry and physics
  • Develop understanding of the nature, processes and methods of science through different types of science enquiries that help them to answer scientific questions about the world around them
  • Pupils are equipped with the scientific knowledge required to understand the uses and implications of science, today and for the future.
  • To revisit and build upon key concepts from KS2 and further embed and extend throughout Key Stage 3 and 4.

At Key Stage 3 pupils are taught the fundamental precise learning points needed to be successful at GCSE and beyond.  They will develop their practical skills and apply to real life situations.  Key Stage 3 is taught in Year 7 and 8 and will receive 7 hours over the two weeks.  In Year 9, pupils will study the separate sciences to develop a breadth of knowledge and understanding.  In Year 10, we will decide based on achievement and engagement those who will continue with the Separate Pathway (Triple Science) and those who will study the Combined route (2 GCSEs).